Sebastian Vettel wins Malaysian GP 2011

Print This Post Print This Post

Sebastian Vettel won the Malaysian GP without much challenge from his rivals despite unusable KERS system. His compatriot Mark Webber had a eventful race from start to finish as his KERS did not work at the start enabling other cars in the back  (2 Ferraris, 2 Renaults and MS in Mercedes) to easily over take him. Mark Webber endured a very difficult race and in the end fought unsuccessfully to claim the third spot from Nick Heidfeld.

While Mark Webber fought his way up, I fought the afternoon sleep and watched through out the race. The race was very confusing as there is no pattern emerged until the end as there were scores of pit stops for tyre changes. This is going to be the penultimate race before the race time shifts from afternoon time in India. Chinese race may be the last one. I am glad the fight with the body will end in just 1 race. ;D

I did not hear from the race telecast what happened to HRT’s Narain Karthikeyan. They also not aware as they too posed the same question over the telecast ūüôĀ Karthikeyan retired after lap 15 but his team mate continued well in to 47th lap and I don’t know whether he retired too. But both the cars did not get race classified. That is the level of telecast. There was no tele coverage catering to all spectrum of fans and they did not cover all the cars. As usual F1 covered only those who are fighting at the top. Much worse is Sebastian Vettel’s race. His race too did not get much coverage as he was in the race lead all along and was never challenged.

There were issues for Redbull like KERS and DRS. Despite that Vettel still managed to win comfortably and that should be a worrying factor for other teams as they should be knowing well that from here on Redbull only can improve their car further.

Right now the top 4 teams are 1] Redbull 2] McLaren 3] Renault 4] Ferrari. I am putting Renault ahead of Ferrari because the car is better than Ferrari. Only the drivers are not as good as Ferrari drivers. Renaults should be missing Robert Kubica. He could have easily won at-least this race if he was in Nick Heidfeld’s position. Nick Heidfeld is not as combative as Sauber’s Kobayashi and this alone will ensure he will again be left seat-less in the next season unless he wins 1 or 2 races this season.

Coming to Mercedes, DRS did not work well for Michael Schumacher as it happened in the Q3 and he was sliding around a lot. Sorry to see him in that condition. Nico Rosberg condition was much worse as he lost out at the start and never regained finishing 12th.

Kobayashi vs Schumacher is becoming a norm in every race. The former always winning all the challenges. Hope Mercedes comes with better car in the rolling development. By finishing ahead of Nico Rosberg, MS has temporarily shut the mouth of many but Rosberg will bounce back soon in the races ahead.

There were incidents involving Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton. Both fought each other. Both were penalized 20 seconds by FIA stewards. Hamilton lost 1 position because of this to Kobayashi.¬† Hamilton blocked more than once Alonso and Alonso later touched Hamilton’car in the rear breaking Ferrari’s front wing. The fight between them ensured Felipe Massa take a cool 5th ahead of them.

Vitaly Petrov flew to a podium in Melbourne two weeks ago although the Russian was performing flying of a very different nature in Sunday afternoon’s Malaysian Grand Prix, throwing away a points finish with a mistake which broke his Renault’s steering column. Car went flying after Petrov over ran a turn breaking late. I must say Petrov is back ūüėÄ

DRS is making the over takes easy for the cars but make the car up front a sitting duck. It is a unfair game, putting the car in the front at disadvantage all the time. System should be scrapped to bring element of fairness in the sport.

This race was better than the Melboune GP but the telecast was sub-standard.

Here is the race results.

The Malaysian Grand Prix
Sepang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia;
56 laps; 310.408km;
Weather: Dry.


Pos  Driver        Team                       Time
1.  Vettel        Red Bull-Renault           1h37:39.832
2.  Button        McLaren-Mercedes           +     3.261
3.  Heidfeld      Renault                    +    25.075
4.  Webber        Red Bull-Renault           +    26.384
5.  Massa         Ferrari                    +    36.958
6.  Alonso        Ferrari                    +    37.248
7.  Kobayashi     Sauber-Ferrari             +  1:07.239
8.  Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes           +    49.957
9.  Schumacher    Mercedes                   +  1:24.896
10.  Di Resta      Force India-Mercedes       +  1:31.563
11.  Sutil         Force India-Mercedes       +  1:41.379
12.  Rosberg       Mercedes                   +     1 lap
13.  Buemi         Toro Rosso-Ferrari         +     1 lap
14.  Alguersuari   Toro Rosso-Ferrari         +     1 lap
15.  Kovalainen    Lotus-Renault              +     1 lap
16.  Glock         Virgin-Cosworth            +    2 laps
17.  Petrov        Renault                    +    4 laps

Fastest lap: Webber, 1:40.571

Not classified/retirements:

Driver        Team                         On lap
Liuzzi        HRT-Cosworth                 47
D’Ambrosio¬†¬†¬† Virgin-Cosworth¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† 43
Trulli        Lotus-Renault                32
Perez         Sauber-Ferrari               24
Barrichello   Williams-Cosworth            23
Karthikeyan   HRT-Cosworth                 15
Maldonado     Williams-Cosworth            9

World Championship standings, round 2:

Drivers:                           Constructors:
1. Sebastian Vettel       50      1. Red Bull/Renault          72
2. Jenson Button          26      2. McLaren/Mercedes          48
3. Lewis Hamilton         22      3. Ferrari                   36
4. Mark Webber            22      4. Renault                   30
5. Fernando Alonso        20      5. Toro Rosso/Ferrari        4
6. Felipe Massa           16      6. Sauber/Ferrari            4
7. Nick Heidfeld          15      7. Force India/Mercedes      4
8. Vitaly Petrov          15      8. Mercedes                  2
9. Kamui Kobayashi         6
10. Sebastien Buemi         4
11. Adrian Sutil            2
12. Michael Schumacher      2
13. Paul di Resta           2
All timing unofficial</pre>

Related Posts:

  • No Related Posts

About vas